Reading Challenge Update – January

readingjan15

January is to me the examination month. It’s always filled with exams and books to study, and I really don’t have time to read something that I do really enjoy. Luckily there’ll be no examination ’till May, so I have time to read what I like.

This month I read three books. Not much, not an impressive start, but we’ll get better.

  1. Sons and Lovers – D. H. Lawrence
    This novel is all about Oedipus complex and its absurd development in the life of a poor young man, oppressed by his mother’s love. It’s an heavy book, I wouldn’t recommend it at all! The style is Victorian, because of the long sentences, but at the same time it shows to have a lot in common with Modernist novels, because of the stream of consciousness. Well, you’ll get confused and you’ll hate Mrs Morel and her inept children. I assure you.

  2. Orlando – V. Woolf
    On the contrary, this novel was absolutely adorable! The irony and bitter comments from the narrator are really funny, and the novel is very lighthearted. I read it in five days! Wonderful! I totally recommend it. Or, you can watch Sally Potter’s film version.

  3. The Life-changing Magic of Tidying Up – M. Kondo
    As a messy person, I guarantee this reading will change your view on tidying up. It is a bit of a radical method for decluttering, and I’m not sure whether I’ll apply it or not. Truth is, it sounds reassuring to read about all these cases of people changing their habits and living better after purging and cleaning their house once for all.

What have you read this month?
How is your reading challenge going? I’m already at 6%!

2 thoughts on “Reading Challenge Update – January

Leave a Reply

